The Mystery of the Tortured Poets Department (and why it represents 30 somethings of today effectively)

Hey there,

Is it the longest title I came up with for a blog post? Yes! It is!

But I had to. Afterall, Taylor Swift dropped her 11th studio album and has left the world divided. As a self titled era swiftie, I expected a blast that a T.Swift flair often serves. But, just like everyone else this was unexpectedly disappointing. After two weeks of listening to the chairman of TTPD, I think I had to speak about my experience (You might be wondering why two weeks, well Ms. Swift decided to really make it to 30 and release an anthology album along with TTPD as if we were asking for more).

After listening to TTPD and Anthology, I had to say “did she forget the good old LESS is MORE”. Furthermore, all the songs felt like previous album rejects and similar to each other. This album was not what we all expected. Also, there was the controversy of a magazine omitting a byline to keep trollers and threats away and many cringey and offensive lyrics(I can’t mention them here, I just can’t).

Here’s my take on TTPD after several relistens on my Glamwalks (you can expect a story or a post on that soon). The album reminds me of T.S’s Taylor Swift and Fearless albums. Its raw, real and messy, just like the 15 and 16 year old Taylor.

So, what is 15-16 year old Taylor doing in 2024?

After the end of a long relationship and dealing with a global event like “the Eras tour” I can surely say that all this took a toll on Taylor and the result was “The Tortured Poets Department”. Taylor is well known to create relatable music with a universal theme. Her career longevity is a direct result of that. Rarely has a star like Taylor done something like this (I can only say Reputation was the album where Taylor accepted being a celebrity with global popularity). But on TTPD, Taylor has done it again, she distanced herself from the universal themes of tumultuous love and heartbreak and focuses on being a messy celebrity in love with not so great men. We accept the part of liking not so great men but can’t understand what its like to be a celebrity.

What sticks out the most and is a relatable theme in this album is the life crisis that a 30 something person will face in this day and age. Whether its the failed romantic relationship that meant so much or the silly rebound that could have been something. Its like TTPD indicates “can you stop believing in love just because you are 30 and still single and heart broken?” (Taylor won’t be single, ofcourse, she has a boyfriend, but I am saying generally).

And here we are, at the end of the discussion, I request you guys to believe in love as much as you can because you only live once and 30 definitely isn’t the end. And, if you think its the end then always remember that Taylor named her 11th album The Tortured Poets Department.

Don’t take all the life crises too seriously some of them just exist in your head.

Till then,

Bye.

Fav. tracks from the album-

Fortnight

Down Bad

Guilty as Sin?

The Albatross

I Can Do it With a Broken Heart (Its cringy and messy. Great for those crazy sleepless nights)

Songs that I would never listen-

Most of anthology and TTPD B-sides.

The Prophecy

So Long, London (It will make me cry, no thanks)

Alchemy

So High School (I am so over it!)

But Daddy I Love Him

Published by destinyant

Just a small town girl living in a lonely world took a midnight train going anywhere. I love my small town life and all my down to earth friends. Acknowledgement for better aspects of simple living is the sole purpose for me being on WordPress. And my motto is simple"They say I got a heart of gold but I got to stay golden. A blog about life experiences and hope.

Leave a comment